Lame spam of the day: US Airways reservation
I got 8 of these at 2 different email addresses, always a sign of spam. The pitch is similar to the American Airlines ticket scam but not as well done. The U.S. Air logo looks terrible, the formatting is sloppy, all the departure cities and times are the same -- only the flight number and confirmation code (and hyperlink destination) vary, and there's no arrival city (which is perfect if you think about it). This site says the links lead to malware. Here's what they look like:

Version 1:
Sender: US Airways - Reservations (reservations@myusairways.com)
Subject: Please confirm your US Airways online registration.
Text:
You should check in from 24 hours and up to 60 minutes before your flight (2 hours if you're flying abroad). Then, all you have to do is print your boarding pass and proceed to the gate.
Confirmation code: 768404
Check-in online: Online reservation details
(Check-in link leads to http://christopher-garrison.com/40MVPL5A/index.html)
Flight 5232
Departure city and time
Washington, DC (DCA) 10:00PM
Depart date: 4/5/2012
Version 2:
Same sender
Subject: US Airways online check-in.
Same text, but flight 3164 (leaving at the same time, and from the same place, as flight 5232) and confirmation number 906794
Check-in link leads to http://humanitariantreks.com/Pwam2FNa/index.html
Version 3:
Same sender and subject as #1. Confirmation code 634101, flight 2707 (again, 10 pm from DC)
Check-in link leads to http://galleryshoponline.co.za/sjFbaiZp/index.html
Version 4:
More of the same. Confirmation code 249073, flight 2702 (again, 10 pm from DC)
Check-in link leads to http://e-lingerie.co.za/Afk3VXew/index.html
Version 5:
Flight 1334, confirmation 208947
Check-in link leads to http://orjinalwonderlift.com/2HGyrfcS/index.html
Version 6:
Flight 0605, confirmation 737322
Check-in link leads to http://dreammgmt.com/s3JgEpEu/index.html
Version 7:
Flight 4369, confirmation 124433
Check-in link leads to http://209.227.241.177/Afk3VXew/index.html
Version 8:
Flight 1299, confirmation 436767
Check-in link leads to http://liprandibienesraices.com/sjFbaiZp/index.html
Filed in Malware,Scam,Spam 11 Comments so far


