I recently received the following email:

Dear Robert L. Weiner Consulting,
We are a domain name register center in China. We have something important need to confirm with you. On the Nov23,2008, We received an application formally,one company which self-styled " Robert L. Weiner Consulting Development Co.,Ltd. " wanted to register " rlweiner " as their asia-pacific domain names and Internet brand. After our initial examination, we found that this application issue involved your company name and trademark,
Considering this may bring something effect to your company, so we inform you in no time. In order to deal with this issue better,Please let the Principal contact us directly and as soon as possible if you considered these domain names and internet brand are important to you and there was necessary to protect them by registering them first.
We view your feedback very seriously and seek your kind cooperation in this matter!
Thank you!
Kind Regards,
Thomas Mellon
Senior Consulting Director
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Internet Brand Justice & Safety Dept.
Asia Internet Network Information Center Asia Pacific
NameBrand Solutions Ltd (Branch Office)
Tel: +86-10101-75620-6698 ext.801 (Mon–Fri,9am to 6:30pm,GMT+8)
Mail:Thomas.Mellon@NameBrandSolutions.com

While researching this company I found several online postings saying it's a scam. At any rate, it's certainly a marketing ploy, like the official-looking letters I get offering to renew and "protect" my domain name for 10x what I'm currently paying. If I wanted to register my domain in China, I could just do it. I think I'll skip it, though.